The research theme under the IUCCCC has propelled various academic institutions working in these fields to form an academic collaboration to share the knowledge and also to shoulder the existing academic and infrastructural strengths. Four of the Universities, namely; Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi; University of Kashmir, Srinagar J & K; University of Jammu, J & K and Sikkim Central University, Gangtok, Sikkim, for these very reasons, formed a consortium namely Inter-University Consortium on Cryosphere and Climate Change (IUCCCC) to look into Cryosphere-Societal interactions, within the framework of integrated science and social-science research. The members of the consortium have, in principle, agreed to provide out-reach facilities within and outside the ambit of this consortium in the country such as

- Providing available library and laboratory facilities,

- Faculty and student exchange that includes introduction of new courses pertaining to cryosphere and climate change studies,

- Manpower training, and to

- Standardize research guidelines and application of research & data/reports.

It has also been agreed upon that the consortium partner  universities will cover Jammu & Kashmir, Himachal Pradesh, Uttrakhand and Sikkim; and thereby, covering most of the northwest, central and northeast part of the Indian Himalayas.

Only Design adopted from NOAA; Decl: Dr. Rakesh Arya